Eighth-Grade Writing Assessment (EGWA)

The Eighth Grade Writing Assessment program was retired after the 2014 administration. The Georgia Milestones Assessment System has replaced the EGWA beginning with the 2014-2015 school year.

The Eighth Grade Writing Assessment was previously administered each January. Students demonstrated writing ability by responding to an expository or persuasive writing topic. Student writing was assessed analytically on four domains: Ideas, Organization, Style, and Conventions.

There were three performance levels represented:

  • Below Target (100-199)
  • On Target (200-249)
  • Exceeds Target (250+)

Retired Assessments Related Content

Criterion-Referenced Competency Test (CRCT)

End-of-Course Test (EOCT)

Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT)

Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT)